Watch Me: The Sky is Everywhere: Book Vs. Movie

Good hello, loves! Happy Tuesday! I finished something look at me go! Happy new year! I’m still trying to get use to the fact it’s 2023 now like what. Haha.

I reread the book when I recently saw that AppleTV Plus recently released the movie adaptation. I say recently, when it was nearly a year ago now and I reread the book in November. I’m working on posting more!

I first read The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson back before my blog was a thing so don’t have a review to look back on and see what I thought of the book back in 2016. Other than I know I read it and enjoyed it for the most part, I couldn’t remember anything about the actual story. Look at me have some motivation to post something!

Side note: Spoilers ahead.


Mini book review: Jandy Nelson captures grief so well. There’s some beautiful moments, some that have magical realism. A few lovely quotes. However, there’s some outdated ideas and terms used.


Movie trailer: here.

Leave it to Apple to fix any issues I had with the book. But also take what’s good about the book and make it even better. AppleTV Plus is really making a great name for itself. The cast is diverse. The visuals are gorgeous with the magical realism scenes especially. It’s a good movie!



Here’s a great example of the movie being better than the book and I’m okay with that. Like I said above, the book had some outdated ideas and terms; if anything it needed to be updated. Like the scene with Sarah on the beach was great and how to be gentle with someone who’s grieving. We don’t always make the best decisions while grieving like Lennie kissing Tobi, her dead sister’s boyfriend, but I get why she did and how they found comfort in each other.

Skip the book and watch the movie.

Okay, spoilers are done.

As always, thanks for reading until the next one!

Sarah<3<3

Where to find me:

Goodreads.

Instagram.

Twitter.

Leave a comment